The Philadelphia Eagles Will Break the NFC East Streak

The Philadelphia Eagles Will Break the NFC East Streak


The Philadelphia Eagles Will Break the NFC East Streak



The defending NFC champions, the Philadelphia Eagles, are looking to return to the playoffs for the third straight season. Not only did they make it, but they won the NFC East as the number one seed and reached the Super Bowl until falling to the Kansas City Chiefs. The team did get a lot better during the offseason in both the draft and free agency and should be, no question, Super Bowl contenders again. But can they do something no NFC East team has done since 2005? That’s winning the NFC East in back-to-back seasons.

It is hard to believe that it’s been 2005 since the last time an NFC East team won the division in back-to-back seasons, the longest active streak in the NFL. The Eagles won the division in back-to-back seasons during that time. Since then, it has been a different team each year.  Here’s why the Eagles can break that streak. First off, the depth on their roster is just incredible. They have so many talented players on their roster both offensively and on defense that can win the Eagles big games. Players like Jalen Hurts, AJ Brown, DeVonta Smith, and now D’Andre Swift on this offense is not a fair matchup to any defense. Hurts is capable of throwing for over 3,000 yards a season, Brown and Smith are capable of having 1,000 yards seasons year after year, and Swift can certainly ball as well. This Eagles offense is something special to watch and Hurts is the best quarterback in the division without a doubt.

The Eagles also had an amazing draft which got their team even better. Already having a top-tier defense, the Eagles traded all the way to number nine and drafted defensive lineman Jalen Carter out of Georgia, which shocked many across the league for sure. The Eagles also got another Georgia Bulldog, linebacker Nolan Smith, in the second round. It was all in all a really good draft that Howie Roseman had and one that will make the Eagles once again the favorite in the division. 

Lastly, the Eagles have the best quarterback in the division. It is without a doubt that the Eagles not only have the most complete roster in the East but the best quarterback. Hurts not only has a great arm, but can run too. Sure, you can say Daniel Jones is also a good runner for the New York Giants, but Hurts does it so often, it is hard for teams to stop him. Plus, there are still so many questions about whether Daniel Jones and Dak Prescott can get their teams over the hump and if Sam Howell is really the man to lead the Washington Commanders. 

The Eagles are all in on Jalen Hurts and the Philadelphia Eagles are such a talented team and talented enough to win the NFC East in back-to-back seasons, breaking the longest active streak in the NFL for a team to win their division two years in a row.  


For more NFL content, check out the links below!

Why the Detroit Lions Will Make the NFC Championship Game

Top 10 NFL Wide Receivers Heading into 2023

Three NFC Teams That Will Surprise This Season


More The Wright Way Network